4 Months still Grinding for a Software Engineering Position

Josh burger
2 min readNov 22, 2021

--

If you follow me and read my blogs, today marks almost 4 months since I've graduated from Flatiron Bootcamp as a Full-Stack Software Engineer. The time has been ripping! Feels like I graduated forever ago. I’m still currently looking for a full-time position as a software engineer. Lately, it has been very dry with no interviews or calls. I write these blogs so that I can look back on them when I land my first position. I also write technical blogs as well on my profile if you would like to check them out.

So far after 4 constant months of non-stop job searching and 50+ active applications, 100+ connections, still no interview yet. I have received a lot of rejections, but who hasn’t?!. I take the rejections and eat them up. I know that it's not much longer before I get a yes I'm looking for.

I am still working with the volunteer team on the frontend/backend of the application. Everything has been going really smoothly and the weekly meetings are nice. You get to catch up with other team members to go over certain parts of the project they are working on.

As far as everything else it's been pretty solid. I plan on revamping my resume again, also currently in the process of creating my own portfolio. I have talked to a couple of friends and they really suggested that I make one for myself to display all of my projects and links to my blogs. This will allow me to show employers exactly what I am capable of contributing, as well as show what I have a passion for doing coding!

I have a few other take-home assignments coming in the near future. I'm really hoping to get interviewed after completing them. Even if I don't get called, I still enjoy doing the challenges in the comfort of my own home. They also give me extra experience coding and creating elegant applications.

I will keep you guys updated on my journey to landing my first software engineering position. Click on the profile and throw a follow! I hope you enjoyed a quick update on where I stand at the moment. Till next time!

--

--